Make: Kale and Cashew Pesto

I am right into the clean eating craze and am hoping to post some yummy, healthy foods that have my own personal spin on them. I love researching on the internet and getting inspiration from others who have been there before, but I also love to make my own additions to recipes and try things that might, or might not work.

- Kale from our garden -

– Kale from our garden –

Husband has lots of lovely green kale growing in the back yard (along with many other beautiful fruits and veggies) and although I do think it tasted rather ordinary when just steamed, I do like it when it’s changed into a different format. One of the formats I have tried recently is to make a pesto out of it. All I can say is….YUM.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 bunch of kale
  • handful of cashews
  • clove of garlic
  • 1/2 lemon – juice
  • 1/2 avocado
  • coconut oil
- Add kale, garlic and nuts to food processor -

– Add kale, garlic and nuts to food processor –

- Then avocado and coconut oil -

– Then avocado and coconut oil –

- Process until smooth -

– Process until smooth –

- yum -

– yum –

It’s like having a hit of goodness in the form of a condiment. We had this slathered on top of our quinoa and sesame seed-crusted chicken (that’s another successful kitchen sesh that I will share another day).

Do you have any fab kale recipes?

Name for SewBakeLove

12 thoughts on “Make: Kale and Cashew Pesto

  1. That sounds yummy Al! I agree, that kale stuff is pretty ordinary just steamed, so sprucing it up into a pesto is a great idea! Now, all you need to do it come up with something to make brussel sprouts edible!! Haha! x

  2. Hi Al, loving the blog being back, thanks! I just can’t come on board with Kale, however, this might be the way for me to give it another go! If you have any suggestions for healthy lunches for work I would love to read them on your blog! xxx Ally

  3. Allison have you tried Kale Chips? They are so tasty!! You just spread a bunch of small kale leaves on a baking tray, sprinkle then really lightly with olive oil and whatever seasoning you like (I used mixed spice but you could use garlic flakes or just rock salt) and bake for around 10 mins. They are so crunchy and a delicious (and healthy!) snack!

Leave a Reply

