Love It: Question of the Week

Last week I was in a hurry to get to my hair appointment. I very stupidly backed out of my driveway too fast, and into a beautiful, black Audi – hard enough to make a serious dent in the front, right panel.

- Image Source -

Image Source

A few things went through my mind in the few moments following this…

1. ‘Oh F*CK!’, was the first one.

2. Then I repeated many times, ‘Idiot! Idiot! Idiot!’ – mostly because I do have a reversing beeper, that kicked in, but as I was travelling too fast, I didn’t react in time.

3. Then it occurred to me that no one saw me and that I could just keep going…pretend it never happened.

Except that it did.

And I was in the wrong.

And would have to own up to my very stupid and very expensive mistake.

4. So I very quickly hopped out of my car and wrote a note to pop the windscreen; ‘Please call me about your car on…blah blah blah….I’m SO sorry!’

I felt like an idiot all day as I waited for my phone to ring. Luckily it was a neighbour up the road, who was super lovely and told me not to stress too much. Mistakes happen, they said. And they do.

But this brings me to this week’s question…

If you damaged someone else’s car, and no one saw you do it, would you own up? Or would you keep on driving??

I would LOVE to hear from you all on this matter.

Name for SewBakeLove

8 thoughts on “Love It: Question of the Week

  1. sorry you backed into someone’s car. It’s horrible when you do something so silly that you feel could have so easily could have been avoided. It makes you beat yourself up over it for ages! However, if you are going to have an accident then that is absolute best case scenario, nobody got hurt!

    I would absolutely leave my details regardless of whether anyone saw or not. Imagine how you would feel every time you saw that car in the street. Or if you became really good friends with the neighbours who own the car. I totally believe that you must leave your details.

    I have had my car keyed quite severely twice (brand new black vw) and had to pay the excess twice to get it fixed – and it was never properly fixed. I also had an uninsured driver run up the back of me. And a truck driver swipe my car and drive off. I hope karma have them all a good kick up the arse!!

    On the flip side I had a guy run up the back of my new car 2 weeks ago and he was lovely and has been amazing about it.

    At the end of the day, it’s why we take out insurance. You did the right thing Al. And you’ll end up being good mates with your lovely neighbours now x

  2. I would leave my details, as I hope others would do the same for me.

    Which is more than I can say about the pole that jumped out in front of me a few months back. It didn’t even own up to it’s mistake, it just sat there starring at me with a blank look.
    How rude!

  3. I would definitely leave a note too! I believe in Karma. Your neighbours must think so highly of you. Honesty is the best policy x

  4. Oh, sorry to hear that, but so glad it all worked out well in the end!

    It HAS happened to me before, about 8 years ago to be precise, and I did leave a note on the windshield! Unfortunately, it turned out to belong to a very nasty couple, so in the end, I left it up to insurance to sort out.

    Hope things have gone better now!

    xx

  5. Shit happens! I totally loved your outlook on this event after the fact though! Finding the positives of meeting one of your lovely neighbours ๐Ÿ™‚
    In response to your question, I think it would depend on the damage…. If it was minor I would totally drive off! But anything significant that was easily noticeable, I would leave a note. I guess this comes from receiving minor damage to my own vehicle in shopping centres and never getting a note left…
    Perhaps selfish, but honest ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh I’m so sorry to hear that it happened, must have been so frustrating! So glad to hear that you left a note though, although I never doubted that you would:)

    Whilst this hasn’t happened to me before, I just know in my heart that I could not go on without leaving a note. I get a quilty concience really quickly and know that I would just want to fess up straight away.

    Sounds like your neighbour took it really well and I hope it works out soon x

Leave a Reply

