Bake It: Vegetable Soup with Risoni

Once again, not technically a bake item, but yummy and healthy, so it’s ok. It’s also more of a winter meal, but who says you can’t eat it in the Summer?

- Shaved parmesan to bring the flavours up to the next level -

– Veggie soup with risoni pasta –

I visited a cafe a few week’s ago and happily ordered the vegetable soup with Risoni. I was delighted when it came out and it tasted oh so yummy. I was then inspired to make my own and have since made it twice. Here’s how I did it.

Vegetable Soup with Risoni

4 pieces of bacon

1 onion

2 sticks of celery

2 carrots

1 parsnip

2 zucchini

handful of green beans

tin of chopped tomatoes

4 cups of beef stock (I use the one already made up, in packet, as it has a far superior flavour)

2 potatoes – cut into small cubes

1/2 cup risoni pasta

Fresh parsley

Salt and pepper (to taste right at end)

Shaved parmesan & bread  – to serve.

- Frying off onion, then celery and carrot to start -

– Frying off onion, then bacon, celery and carrot to start –

- Chop bacon into tiny pieces -

– Chop bacon into tiny pieces –

- Cut veggies into manageable-sized pieces -

– Cut veggies into manageable-sized pieces –

I wanted to make  all the veggies very fine in texture, except for the potato, which I cut this into small cubes and added near the end.

- My super mini-blender that I LOVE -

– My super mini-blender that I LOVE –

- Then all ingredients go into pot and simmer for half an hour -

– Then all veggies, stock and tinned tomatoes go into the pot, and simmer for half an hour –

The small cubes of potatoes were added ten minutes before the risoni pasta, which was added ten minutes before serving. I added fresh chopped parsley right at the end, and salt and pepper to taste.

DSC_1200

- Shaved parmesan to bring the flavours up to the next level -

– Shaved parmesan to bring the flavours up to the next level –

Do you make veggie soup in the Summer? Do you have certain ingredients you ALWAYS put into a veggie soup?

Name for SewBakeLove

4 thoughts on “Bake It: Vegetable Soup with Risoni

  1. Last week I made Red Lentil and Spinach soup – in summer! I love a good soup and your recipe looks delicious. The ingredients that ALWAYS seem to end up in my soups are some type of lentil or barley. Obviously onion and garlic are a must too! Love your mixer, think I need to add one to the kitchen. Great for making baby food!!

  2. Yum, yum, yum!! You have just motivated me to make some soup in summer!! 🙂
    With our unpredictable weather, I’m sure it’s always handy to have on standby.

Leave a Reply

