Love It: Holiday Rituals

Once again, I could be the only person in the world that does this, but I have Holiday Rituals. These are THINGS I do every time I get some holidays. Admittedly, this time around, my holidays are not quite the same, as I have a two-year old in tow, but I have been, and am still determined to enjoy my rituals.

Magazines

I have always loved to browse through the odd magazine, but I find them super time-wasting and mostly just trash, so I limit myself to reading them during my holidays ONLY. Better Homes and Gardens, That’s Life Bumper Puzzler and Shop Til You Drop make up the current trashy mags this week – weird mix?!?!

DSC_1193

Television Series

I find when I am working, I simply don’t have time to watch a complete TV series – unless it’s Masterchef or My Kitchen Rules of course. So I like to set myself a little goal to watch a series, or at least have a good stab at knocking one-off. These holidays it’s been Homeland and The Tudors.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 7.58.13 PM

Massages and/or Facials

Once again, who gets time to book in and truly enjoy one of these self-indulgent things when working? So, I make a point to make myself an appointment (and this set of holidays, a babysitter) and really just use the time to relax. I am having a massage this time – my aching lower back will thank me.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 7.57.37 PM

Exercise Daily

Even if it’s just a stroll by the ocean, or a jog in the morning sunlight, I make a point to get some form of exercise in daily. I figure having all this time up my sleeve, allows me to schedule in some exercise. It also makes me feel better when I over-indulge with chips and dips or a glass of Sem Sav Blanc (not these hols though).

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 7.58.53 PM

So, what are your holiday rituals? If you’re currently on hols, this will be fun to share. If you’re not on hols, it might make you feel like you are…even for just a moment in time.

Name for SewBakeLove

9 thoughts on “Love It: Holiday Rituals

  1. I love homeland. Any chance you have the season final on DVD. We missed it and I’m dying to know what happened. Holiday rituals are all food and alcohol related. Its the only time I go out and have a cooked breakfast. For me now there is no such thing as a holiday, even if we travel its just doing the same shit in a different place. šŸ™‚

  2. I love reading magazines and don’t find them to be time wasters because I enjoy it and it’s a little escape. I don’t really have any holiday rules except for making sure that I relax, do what feels right and enjoy the places we are at. x

  3. You are making me very jealous with these rituals! As I am not currently on holidays, but not long now – so I will ensure that I include some of these in mine too.
    This is a great idea, because you are right, who gets the time otherwise!?
    Happy to be your babysitter during your massage time too – if the time fits in with my working schedule… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

