Bake It: Carrot and Walnut Cake

Quite a while ago (before I was feeling ultra over-indulgent and overweight, with child) I made a carrot and walnut cake. There’s something about a carrot cake – with a yummy, thick icing – that is so, so yummy. And it must be healthy if it’s carrot….right?

I simply got onto Taste.com and found this recipe, which seemed easy enough to make. I also scrolled down the bottom of the recipe page to read the reviews (which I often do now as I find them very helpful) and made a little change to the recipe.

- All ingredients in the bowl...too easy! -

– All ingredients in the bowl…too easy! –

As recommended by Reviewer 4, I added a grated apple and cut the cup of oil back to a quarter of a cup of oil – such a better option.
- All mixed in doesn't look great, but I assure you it will be -

– All mixed in doesn’t look great, but I assure you it will be –

- Into greased, lined tin and flatten out -

– Into greased, lined tin and flatten out –

- After one hour and fifteen minutes in the moderate oven -

– After one hour and fifteen minutes in the moderate oven –

- I think the icing makes a carrot cake -

– I think the icing makes a carrot cake –

- A view from the side -

– A view from the side –

- Oh so moist -

– Oh so moist –

I was really happy with how this turned out and one day (when I’m able to run 10kms the day before so I know I can get away with it) I’ll definitely make this recipe again.

Do you have a carrot cake recipe? What are your thoughts on the old carrot cake? Do you have good or bad carrot cake memories? Do you read the reviews of recipes to see whether they work or not? And whether there are additional steps that will make the recipe better?

Name for SewBakeLove

12 thoughts on “Bake It: Carrot and Walnut Cake

  1. Love carrot cake! I used to make it a lot when I was in my 20s. In my 30s I better understood what 1 cup of oil did to my hips. I do love it though and often buy it with a coffee

  2. That looks AWESOME! (as does everything that you cook)
    I do love a carrot cake and until recently didn’t know how bad it actually is! I choose to ignore that whilst eating it though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

