Bake It: Nectarine Cupcakes

This time of year always brings our house an abundance of stone fruit thanks to Husband’s regular visits to the wholesale markets as part of his job. As we had many nectarines and I also had my new cupcake stand, I decided to do what I love most and bake some nectarine cupcakes. Something different. Something out of the ordinary. I did a web search and discovered the amazing Martha Stewart website had a reasonably simple and straightforward recipe for nectarine cupcakes. And by the way, if you love baking, interior design, arts and crafts and the like, you have to check out the Martha Stewart website – it’s a whole world of amazing!

Back to my cupcakes.

They are really simple cupcake recipe, with the point of difference being that you spoon some batter in each cupcake pan, then a layer of chopped, fresh nectarines, and then another scoop of batter. It was actually a really lovely vanilla cupcake recipe and I’ll be using this one in future (minus the nectarines, of course).

- A simple cupcake with a layer of chopped nectarine in the middle -

– A simple cupcake with a layer of chopped nectarine in the middle –

The next phase was the fun part, as I really wanted to make my cupcakes look great and taste great. So I made a simple butter cream icing – I got the recipe here. Instead of adding the moisture of the milk, I slowly added some strained nectarine puree. This added that extra nectarine flavour that into the entire cupcake tasting experience. YUM!

- There's a lot of butter in buttercream icing....funny about that huh? -

– There’s a lot of butter in buttercream icing….funny about that huh? –

- After a good puree, I passed it through a sieve to ensure it was very smooth -

– After a good puree, I passed it through a sieve to ensure it was very smooth –

- The buttercream should be a lovely, light and fluffy consistency -

– The buttercream should be a lovely, light and fluffy consistency –

- Best and least-messiest way to fill your piping bag is to fold it over a tall, skinny tub -

– Best and least-messiest way to fill your piping bag is to fold it over a tall, skinny tub –

- A classic pipe pattern...I couldn't resist -

– A classic pipe pattern…I couldn’t resist –

- On the new stand they look impressive -

– On the new stand they look impressive –

- An arty shot...couldn't help myself -

– An arty shot…couldn’t help myself –

I had so much fun making these and I’ve been told (by my dad) that they are the best cakes he’s ever tasted. Husband, on the other hand, was far more brutal and reassured me that I’ve made better. This didn’t stop him from devouring two at a time for the days following.

Have you made cupcakes that are both beautiful and delicious? What cup cake flavour ideas do you have to share?

Name for SewBakeLove

 

10 thoughts on “Bake It: Nectarine Cupcakes

  1. These look YUM! I love buttercream icing… put it on any flavor cake and I’ll be happy. One of my current favourite cake flavors is banana and walnut cake with a cream cheese frosting. I have a goal for the holidays though, to make a sponge cake! If you have any fail-proof recipes for sponge, I’d be grateful! x Ally

  2. Please Al no more delicious cupcake or slice recipes for the next month, I am trying to loose 10-14kg! Post baby weight you are going down!

Leave a Reply

