Bake: Sicilian Apple Cake

When we were on our beautiful holiday (which feels like a distant memory now) we often treated ourselves to a morning or afternoon tea. When in Kiama – on NSW South coast, we discovered a lovely little cafe that served this yummy, scrumptious, delicious cake. We loved it so much that we even went back the following day and ordered the same cake. So, being the baker that I am, I attempted to make it….with GREAT success.

I googled the recipe, and found it here. This website seems to be affiliated with a store on QLD’s Sunshine Coast and has heaps of yummy recipes – bonus!

So, here’s the photo gallery to tempt you all to challenge yourselves in the baking arena.

– It’s basically a simple cake batter as the base –

– Peeling and slicing the apples is the most annoying part of this recipe…which is why I got Mumma to do it –

– Soaking the apple in the lemon juice –

– Cake batter and layered apples into the springform cake pan, then top with the sultanas, nuts… –

– …and sugar and cinnamon mix –

– Fresh out of the oven –

– Yum, almost too good to eat –

– Serving with whipped cream is a MUST! –

As stated earlier, this was super yummy and as I type this I’m thinking I may just have to make this again soon.

Have you ever had anything like this cake?

10 thoughts on “Bake: Sicilian Apple Cake

  1. Yes Holly, don’t miss it! It was one of the BEST cakes I’ve ever had (and, believe me, I’ve had a few!!) Great to see the blog back Alison. xox

Leave a Reply

