Love: ‘Honolulu’ Book Review

On my recent holiday, I was able to read two whole books. This is the first one I read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

‘Honolulu’ written by Alan Brennert is a historical novel told from the point of view of a young Korean girl, Jin. It is set in the early part of last century when life for Korean women was very strict, where their lives were set out for them and they had vier little say in what lay ahead of them. Jin was determined to get an education and so she chose a different path for herself, which included becoming a ‘picture bride’ – this is where she agreed to marry a man (a Korean man) who was living in Hawaii and paid for her to travel there and become her wife.

Life is not what she expects and Jin is forced to make some tough choices.

This is a beautifully written novel and I was amazed to discover that the author had no first hand experience, but rather a keen interest in this part of the world’s history and location.

Jin is a strong, independent and intelligent woman who I really grew to love and respect whilst reading her story. I give this book a 4.5 our of 5.

Have you read this book? Have you heard of it? Do you think you’d like to read it?

2 thoughts on “Love: ‘Honolulu’ Book Review

  1. When I read ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin’ I felt like the author had to be a mother as she had great insight into a mother’s mind. After reading the book I learned that she was not a mother – by choice – and I marvelled at such writing with such great depth. Shan xo

Leave a Reply

