Love: Question of the Week

One of my pet hates is rudeness. I am NEVER rude to anyone….unless they are rude to me first. I have thought that customer service in many of our larger retail outlets is becoming worse, even to the point where some people are just plain rude. Just this morning I was purchasing some items at a larger retail outlet and the girl who was serving me didn’t greet me with a hello – this is something I find myself having to initiate more and more as the time goes on, and then she let out a massive sigh right in the middle of the transaction.

Is the level of customer service really terrible these days? Or am I just getting older and grumpier?

Source. (I have a ‘thing’ for cash registers….this is for a whole other blog) –

I must admit, it makes online shopping far more appealing!

What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

12 thoughts on “Love: Question of the Week

  1. I agree, but I think it may even go a lot further than that. Like bad pay and the level of respect kids seem to have in general.
    There was a time when people were taught to respect one another, but I see that less and less these days.
    Keep saying hi though, and smile, a kind deed makes everyone’s day 🙂

  2. All that being said, I go to a fantastic coffee shop most mornings, where I am greeted with a smile and good morning Holly they know how I have my coffee and they wish me a good day / weekend. I LOVE LOVE LOVE them!! So there are nice customer service people somewhere…

  3. I’ve worked retail off and on for years, sadly, we got what we pay for, low wages don’t make alot of people proud of their jobs or feel respected themselves, it trickles down in attitude and service. Some people will always be good at working with the public and take pride in their work, others will take a low wage as an excuse to be slack. Its sad.

  4. Oh I agree and it’s frustrating because I’ve worked in customer service my whole working life and yes, there are situations where customers can make you so damn angry but there’s no need to take it out on the people after them.

    I do think it has alot to do with the company: in stores where I didn’t feel appreciated as an employee I had no problems dropping my game because you think to yourself “why bother?” so I think that has alot to do with it at times.

  5. Wow, I agree with everything that everyone has said here, including the original post (obviously!)… and I am itching to add my two cents worth but don’t know where to start!!! OK, I’m hopeless with fashion and people have always been able to tell at a glance that I don’t spend much on clothing (I do though, take pride in my appearance… if that makes sense). Anyway, some shop people like to make snap judgments on what I can or can’t afford. Countless times I have been told, “oh, that’s very expensive” or “are you sure you can afford that darling” or they just totally ignore me in the hope that I go away. Does it worry me? Yes and no. Having said that, earlier this week, at a big city retail store, a wonderful young man at the register served me. He was courteous, full of smiles, natural and warm.

    • This reminds of that scene in Pretty Woman – you wouldn’t have seen it though Ren, as you are not a chick flick fan….”Big mistake…..BIG mistake!” HA!

Leave a Reply

