{Holiday Series} Bake: Bill Granger’s Poached Pears with Warm Coffee Sauce

I know this is not technically a bake post, but sometimes I’m going to have to share other cooking adventures with you that aren’t in the bake category. It’s my blog and I’ll do what I want šŸ™‚

So, I had to make something out of my all-time favourite cook book, Bill Granger’s ‘Feed Me Now’. It just has so many yummy, hearty, easy recipes in it. My copy of this book is so well-used that it’s a bit grotty. It’s gross, but I kind of love that about it now.

– I love you Bill –

For those of you that have been reading along with my blog last week, you will know that I have been doing Michelle Bridge’s 12WBT. Unfortunately, there are no Bill Granger recipes in her 1200 calories per day regime. So, I broke the rules (which I figure is my prerogative ONCE A WEEK….for blogging purposes of course) and I made poached pears with a warm coffee sauce. Bridges’ program has a treat meal once a week and so I made this my treat.

– Yum –

I also got some inspiration from watching My Kitchen Rules. The two ‘evil’ characters on the show made a poached pear recipe and they inspired me to make this – it’s one of my favourites and I haven’t made it for so long.

– If only they knew their destiny –

They were peeled and then poached in a litre of water with dissolved sugar and vanilla extract. It also had a cinnamon stick floating carelessly at the surface.

– Naked pears –

– A hot bath –

The sauce is the naughty bit. This has a little butter, cream, brown sugar and a shot of espresso coffee. This spends five minutes on the stove top and then it’s ready to pour over the poached pears – with some more cream….or course.

– How many calories in that? –

So, the verdict…my husband kept repeating….’Oh my God, the sauce is so good’ and then he said, ‘the pears could have been in a little longer’. He is always very honest about my cooking – which is annoying, but helps me to improve. I often remind him, quietly and calmly, just how lucky he is to have a clever wife who will cook for him.

Do you have a favourite recipe book?

Alison

5 thoughts on “{Holiday Series} Bake: Bill Granger’s Poached Pears with Warm Coffee Sauce

  1. Bill’s cookbooks are always a favourite. I’ve had this recipe tagged for awhile now so thanks for reminding me! Gotta make this one especially cause pears are in season YUM!

  2. Mmmm this looks delicious. I too saw that MKR episode, too funny. The coffee sauce does sound amazing and you definitely deserve a cheat meal once a week. And yes your hubby is very lucky xx

Leave a Reply

