Bake: Quick Mix Chocolate Slice

Low fat….hmmmm….I’m sure Michelle Bridges wouldn’t agree, but it makes you feel better when you have a little nibble, doesn’t it?

I have a really cute recipe collection book that is basically a lined notebook with dividers for pastas, soups, sweets and so on that I have been adding to over the years with smaller-sized cut-outs from magazines. When I’m settled into my new house, I aim to set myself a goal to cook everything that’s in it, as they are ALL recipes I like the look of…A LOT! Today’s recipe is taken from this book and I can quite safely say that it’s one of the easiest and yummiest recipes I’ve made for a while! Honest…

– My recipe collection –

The recipe is so old school that I couldn’t even find a link for it online, so here it is. (It was from an old issue of Super Food Ideas magazine).

Quick Mix Chocolate Slice

(Makes 18 pieces)

1/2 cup olive oil

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 cup self-raising flour, sifted

1/2 cup desiccated coconut

Icing

1 cup icing sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

2 tablespoons boiling water.

1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees. Grease and line a 3cm deep, 26cm x 16cm (base) lamington pan.

2. Place oil, sugar and cocoa into a saucepan over low heat. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until cocoa dissolves and mixture is warm. Transfer to a bowl. Allow to cool for 3 minutes.

3. Add egg and vanilla to oil mixture. Mix well. Add flour and coconut. Mix until well combined. Spread mixture over base of prepared lamington pan. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into centre comes out clean.

4. Make icing – combine icing sugar and cocoa into a bowl. Add water. Stir until smooth. Spread icing over warm slice. Allow to cool completely. Cut into squares to serve.

See…SUPER easy!

– Melting pot of yumminess –

 

– Easy mixing –

– Baked –

– Iced –

– Served with cream…low fat no more! –

So, are you game to try this one out? Do you truly believe it’s low-fat? and super easy?

3 thoughts on “Bake: Quick Mix Chocolate Slice

  1. Sooooo not low fat!
    Yum. This is the same recipe my mum made for us when we were little. Her recipe was from the Esk valley cookbook – her old school book (literally) and it was called chocolate crunch slice. I have been thinking about that slice a lot in recent times. Now I’ll have to make it for Ted! Yum

Leave a Reply

