Love: DVD Review – ‘I Don’t Know How She Does It’

I have become a huge fan of watching movies and TV series on my Ipad, partly so I can watch while exercising at the gym and partly because the TV in our lounge room was hijacked for two weeks whilst the Olympic Games played out.

I’ve recently watched Series One of Game of Thrones (LOVE) and then The Bachelorette – Emily and most recently the film, I Don’t Know How She Does It, starring Sarah Jessica Parker and directed by Douglas McGrath (Emma, Infamous, Company Men).

I am such a huge fan of SJP following her most famous and bestest role as Carrie in Sex and the City (will anything ever live up to this show?) and her role in this movie is no exception. After checking out some reviews, I was shocked to see that it didn’t get the best write-up – it must have been reviewed by a bunch of bung people!

This is a story surrounding Kate (SJP), who works a full time high-profile job, along with being a mother of two, and a wife to Richard (Greg Kinnear). Kate’s character reminds me a little of me (maybe that’s another reason to like her so much) as she never stops and never sits still. She is dedicated to her work and feels that mother’s guilt for spending so much time away from her children and her home. Kate’s husband, Richard, is mostly very supportive of her career, but for the majority of the movie, it is Kate who does all the organising, worrying and list-making for the family, so that all the important things get done. She is even up against her mother-in-law who makes snide comments about her absence from her children.

Although I love SJP, Kate’s hair annoyed me throughout the film. I sound like my mother when I say, ‘I wish she’d just brush her hair’ (or tie it back). I think as she was portrayed as being a busy, working mother, that her appearance had to suffer (which is not always true). Her colleague and assistant, Momo (Olivia Munn) was a constant reminder of why not to have children, as she was adamant she wouldn’t be having any of her own.

I really loved her friend Allison (Christina Hendricks) as she was a supportive, funny and like-minded friend. We all need one (or a few) of them around to keep us laughing.

So, overall I give this film 8 out of 10 – it was another perfect chick flick that met many of my chick flick movie criteria.

Have you seen this movie? If so, what are your thoughts? What is your opinion of SJP?

 

 

Most images taken from IMDB.

12 thoughts on “Love: DVD Review – ‘I Don’t Know How She Does It’

  1. I really enjoyed this movie, too! I loved SJP’s character – she was warm, smart and beautifully flawed. Such a refreshing change from her often melodramatic Carrie. Don’t get me wrong, SATC is one of my all time favourite shows … but Carrie could be exasperating! Samantha, on the other hand, was always priceless 🙂

  2. I think that part of my brain that is designed to enjoy chick flicks got damaged during birth! I’ve wanted, goodness, really, really wanted to love chick flicks… I’ve even sat down and watched a few…. but no 😦

  3. I really liked this movie too. I read the book ages ago and it all came back to me when I watched the film. I did see it on the plane so the screen wasn’t big but I still enjoyed it X

  4. I haven’t watched this movie yet, but I put it on my Watch List after reading your review. I just recently got a Kindle Fire and have had fun watching series I missed the first time around. I’ve really enjoyed Mad Men this summer. I’m almost finished with all 5 seasons and I’ll be sad when it’s over.
    Game if Thrones!!! Love that too! I don’t think the second season was as good as the first (lots of gore not enough Danarius Tarkareon) But I’m still a fan and I can’t wait for the third season to start.
    Thanks for the movie suggestion!
    Beth

  5. Okay, I’ve been dying to watch this movie for ages and it still hasn’t happened! Must have movie night some time this week! 🙂

    I LOVE Games of Thrones…such an awesome series, I nearly cried when they hung Sean Penn’s head on the wall though. 😛

    You know, I always treat reviews with a pinch of salt…I rather just go in and watch it myself to decide, as some people take going to the movies wayy too seriously!

Leave a Reply

