Love: Book Review – ‘Dinner at Rose’s’

As stated previously, I have had a lot of extra time to read lately – flat on my back, resting.

I have to admit, I was completely sucked in by the beautiful cover of this book – it has inspired me in more ways than one (stay tuned).

– I couldn’t walk past this cover –

But, as they say, you can’t judge a book by its cover – I knew this all along, but I couldn’t help myself. It is also a brand new book (first published this year) written by a first time writer – I love that.

This is a beautiful little story written from the point of view of a New Zealand a girl, Jo, who lives in Melbourne and discovers her boyfriend and best friend are having a relationship behind her back. As her whole life is thrown into chaos, she returns to her homeland of New Zealand where her eccentric Auntie Rose, childhood ‘friend’ Matt, and some other friends and family live. There are some beautiful descriptive passages of the New Zealand countryside, as well as some beautiful moments between the simple, yet interesting characters.

There is obviously more that happens, but I don’t want to give that away – just in case you want to read it yourselves. I would happily give this book a 7 out of 10. I would also confidently judge this book by its cover – just beautiful!

Have you picked up a book because you were taken with its cover? Can you judge a book by its cover?

Alison

2 thoughts on “Love: Book Review – ‘Dinner at Rose’s’

Leave a Reply

