Love: Question of the Week

I have recently had a few instances with fake nails. One instance was when I purchased a set of stick-on french manicure nails, just for fun and to see what they looked like. They were Press & Go Press on Manicure nails in Rock It – which is the french polish design. After I had applied them, I thought they looked beautiful. When I asked Husband what he thought, he replied with, ‘They look fake!’ The end!

Of course, with all the dishes I do, and cleaning around the house, they only stayed on for 24 hours, but it was a lovely 24 hours where I could pretend I had perfect (fake-looking) nails. There is something about a french manicure that I adore. If I could afford them to always look good, and if they weren’t so bad for your real nails, I would get fake nails, but for now, I dream (and buy shit fake ones to stick on for 24 hour blocks).

– Angle 1 –

– Angle 2 –

And the second instance was when I commented on The Made Up Maiden’s blog post, regarding her beautiful nails and manicure. She seems to have nails that look like they are fake, but when I asked whether they are real or fake, she was flattered to hear I thought they were fake, but in actual fact told me they are real.

This brings me to my question for the week…

Are fake nails supposed to look fake, or are they supposed to look real?

Alison

10 thoughts on “Love: Question of the Week

  1. I think the only ‘fake nails’ that can look real are the gel tips (like I had for my wedding).. that way it’s your real nail, but just the tip is fake. I loved the look of the gel tips and if I didn’t love netty more I’d have them all the time. And I agree with you on the french polish… love it! x Ally

  2. Haha, now you have me wondering if my nails always look fake! 😛 Thanks for the shout-out, by the way!

    I always thought that fake nails were supposed to look real! For what it’s worth, I think these ones do look quite real, they look stunning on you, by the way!

    • I hope I haven’t offended you – I didn’t mean to! I just adore perfect-looking nails! Mine are always so random looking! Thank you for the lovely compliment. Now how do I get them to stick longer than 24 hours??

      • You’d never offend me, darling…it honestly is a great compliment! 🙂

        Hmm…lots of good glue (I like Nailene ultra quick) and wearing protective gloves when doing the washing up? 🙂

  3. Your nails do look good! I think that fake nails generally always look fake. I don’t think that’s a bad thing though. How else do you get perfect shape, thickness, length and colour?

  4. I prefer real nails (can’t do acrylic) and I love the Press & Go nails because they don’t damage your nails and they just look so good. I think your nail design choice was really cool, it looks really beautiful!:)

    I also agree MM has the best nails on the block X

Leave a Reply

