Bake: Mumma’s Apple Pie

My mum is always saying she’s not a very good cook, but I’ve heard just about enough of that, because I think she is a great cook! She’s always there to answer random cooking questions – and many other random questions, and most importantly, she passed this awesome recipe onto me. When staying with us once (pre-Evie days) she made this apple pie and Husband would NOT shut up about it. So, consequently, I had to learn how to make it, so that I could at least try to re-produce Mumma’s apple pie. It’s actually a really easy recipe, that has glorious results.

Apple Pie

2 cups SR flour

2 tbsp butter (softened)

2 tbsp caster sugar

a little water

Can Pie Apples (large)

Milk for brushing on top

Method

Preheat moderate oven (180 degrees).

To make the pastry, you rub the butter into the flour and sugar, then add a little water until it forms a dough-like mixture. Roll it out two thirds of the pastry and press into a greased pie dish. Pasty = done.

Open a tin of pie apples, place them randomly in the base, then roll the remaining third of the pastry out to make the lid of the pie, place on top and squish edges together. Cut two slits in the top of the pie to allow the steam to escape. Brush with a little milk (to make it go brown while baking) and sprinkle with a little more caster sugar (optional).

Bake in your pre-heated moderate oven for approximately 45 minutes – or until the bottom of the pie is browned and cooked through.

Serve with ice cream or custard – YUM!

– Quick, easy pastry –

– Roll it out –

– No need for accuracy, rustic is best –

– My regular little helper is there at every stage –

– Sprinkled with a little sugar and brushed with milk –

– Having a glass of pinot while we wait for it to bake –

– The top was ‘well-done’ –

– How good does it look? –

– This is our favourite ice cream –

– Such a good shot, I had to put this one in too –

– Yum! –

So, thanks for your yummy, easy recipe Mumma – you ARE a great cook!

Do you have a handed-down recipe that you just love? What about an apple pie recipe? I’ve love to hear about it!

Alison

15 thoughts on “Bake: Mumma’s Apple Pie

  1. I recently made an apple and rhubarb (with rhubarb from my own garden!) pie that I found on Bill Granger’s website. While I thought Sharyn made the best apple and rhubarb ever, I think Bill’s recipe may be very slightly better!

  2. On my 35 List was to bake an apple pie from scratch – pastry and apples all natural. This was huge for me! I used the Jamie Oliver recipe and it was remarkably easy and so yummy. Bobbie – Al has to get her cooking skills from somewhere. xo

  3. Oh this is fantastic! The ice cream is delicious but it looks like the apple pie is the true winner. I think parents rarely over-sell themselves and it’s why it is so important to re-inforce it to them when we can…:) X

  4. Pingback: Bake: Apple, Pecan and Gingerbread Loaf | sew and bake and love

Leave a Reply

