Bake: Pear and Raspberry Cake

I’ve mentioned previously that I subscribe to Delicious Magazine and that I am attempting to make one new dish from it each month. Only one recipe a month sounds like a pretty lame effort, but in the past I never cooked any, so this is better than that!

– This is how they look in the glossy photos –

There are many yummy dishes in this month’s edition, but the one that caught my eye straight away was the Pear and Raspberry Cake. I love pears in cakes and I always have frozen berries in my freezer as Evie loves to chew them up on a regular basis. So I set about to making it a couple of saturday evenings ago when I was feeling rather adventurous – ha!

Pear & raspberry Cake

150g unsalted butter, softened

150g caster sugar

3 eggs

1/2 cup (75g) plain flour, sifted

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 cups (155g) almond meal

2 pears, peeled, cored, chopped

125g fresh or frozen, thawed raspberries (I used frozen mixed berries – it was all I had in the freezer)

1/4 cup (20g) flaked almonds

icing sugar, to dust

– I didn’t use the Kitchen Aide this time. I went all-manual –

– Ready to be baked –

– Baked –

– A colourful cake –

– Yum –

I am happy with the result. It was moist and tasty. Husband ate most of it and he didn’t complain, so it must have been ok!

Do you have any lovely pear-cake recipes? Do you subscribe to a cooking mag?

Alison

Grass 14.05.2012 #photoadaymay

20120514-193620.jpg

8 thoughts on “Bake: Pear and Raspberry Cake

  1. Looks very yummy Al. You’re lucky to have a husband who can polish off all those tempting leftover bits of cake!! Imagine what would happen if he didn’t……. xox

  2. That cake looks delicious. I used to buy the magazine ‘Recipes’ to help with meal planning, but now I just use taste.com.au. I find it relaxing looking through cookbooks and enjoy cooking new recipes.

Leave a Reply

