Love: Movie Review – The Lucky One

I was very lucky to see ‘The Lucky One’ with my beautiful friend Holly on the weekend. I had been wanting to see this movie since it came out a few weeks ago. It was the ultimate chick flick, filled with a spunky main character, Logan (played by Zac Efron) who seemed a bit young for a
thirty-something woman, like me, to be perving on, but this didn’t stop me! He was the perfect guy – he didn’t speak a lot and when he did, he said all the right things like, ‘you should be kissed everyday’, ‘I came to see you’ and twice in the film, he said ‘I just came over to see if your were ok’ – awww. He was also good with his hands AND he was helpful around the farm (ha).

20120507-133817.jpg
Logan is a Marine who has just finished three tours in Iraq. On his final tour, he comes across a photograph of a woman who he believes becomes his guardian angel. When he arrives back home, he sets out to find her and this is when the story really heats up. The leading lady, Beth (played by Taylor Schilling – an actress who seems to be just starting out), has a beautiful 8 year old son, a Nanna and an ex-husband who is not very likeable.

20120507-134145.jpg
This movie has many similarities to the film ‘The Notebook’. For those who don’t know, ‘The Notebook’ is my all-time favourite movie, that also happened to change my life. Not only was it written by the same author (Nicholas Sparks) but it was filmed using similar settings (country side in America, by the water) and similar camera-use (warm colours, soft, warm lighting).

20120507-134300.jpg
If you’re after an escape from your life for two hours, away from children, and into a beautiful world where men are sensitive, say all the right things and sexy-time is prevalent and perfect, then this film is for you.

20120507-134623.jpg

Have you seen ‘The Lucky One’? What are you thoughts on Nicholas Sparks’s stories?

Alison

A Smell I Adore 08.05.2012 #photoadaymay

20120508-223112.jpg

7 thoughts on “Love: Movie Review – The Lucky One

  1. I want to see it but haven’t gotten around to it. It looks like the perfect chickflick to me. My boyfriend’s SIL is currently reading the book so maybe we’ll see it after she finishes.

    A great movie is a wonderful escape, I felt that way with the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel:) X

  2. Gosh how I love going to the movies! These days I go by myself – bit sad isn’t it!! I miss my Friday night date nights with Andrew watching a movie each week. In need of a chick flick. Might have to check my social calendar to see if me, myself and I can get there!! Haha. Glad u girls loved it x

    • Oh no, that isn’t sad! Going to the movies alone is so liberating! I did it when I was pregnant, several times, as I had finished work and I knew that I wouldn’t be able to go after Little B (remember that name???) arrived!!

  3. Al, I have the book if you haven’t read it. Nicholas Sparks books are soppy, simple and predictable… and I don’t mean that in a bad way! They are easy reads with likable characters and I can see why they keep getting made into films! x Ally

    • I started reading this one, but I never finished it. Not because I didn’t enjoy it, but because that it what I do! There are too many other distractions to read all the time!! I wish I was a reader like you though Alley. You’ll love this movie!! x

  4. Pingback: Love: Running (Mostly Jogging Actually) | sew and bake and love

Leave a Reply

