Bake: Apple & Cinnamon Mini Muffins

Evie’s new favourite word is ‘cake’. I have no idea where she learnt this word as I haven’t been eating any cake whilst being on my healthy eating plan – it must be from her father! So, I decided to make her some little bubba cakes that have some fruit and are packed with flavour. When I was pregnant with Evie , I purchased a book, ‘The Happy Baby Cookbook‘, which is an Australian Women’s Weekly publication. I have used this off and on, but was very happy to find a great (and easy) recipe for apple and cinnamon mini muffins.

- A good cook book -

Apple and Cinnamon Mini Muffins

3/4 cup SR flour

1 Tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 milk

1/4 cup apple juice

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1/4 cup grated apple (I used a whole one)

- Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients -

- Drop a heaped teaspoon into each mini muffin case -

- After baking in a 180 degree oven (160 fan-forced) for 15 minutes -

- Mmmm cake! -

I’m really happy with the result. The cinnamon gives them a lovely flavour and the oats add another dimension. I have frozen them into little zip lock bags and Evie’s new favourite thing is to go to the freezer, open the door and then the drawer and pull one out and say, ‘cake…..cake…..cake….’ She obviously likes them! Highly recommend.

Have you made muffins lately? What is your preferred flavour option for the home-baked muffin?

Alison

Skyline 02.05.2012 #photoadayMay

20120502-201034.jpg

4 thoughts on “Bake: Apple & Cinnamon Mini Muffins

  1. Cant wait to try these. I love baking muffins as they are so quick and easy to make. I especially like recipes that uses vegetable oil as I believe you get a better muffin from this. My fav flavor would have to be the classic raspberry white chocolate.

  2. Yum! This looks like a sort-of healthy treat for both young and old:) I love adding cinnamon to my coffee so having it in a muffin would be an even better combo X

Leave a Reply

