Love: Joshua Radin

I have discovered some new music that I can’t help but listen to. The artist’s name is Joshua Radin and he’s an American singer, songwriter. He has released three albums, two of which I have recently purchased and am finding myself listening to over and over again. They aren’t new albums, but they are new to me.

- We Were Here (2006) -

- Simple Times (2008) -

After doing some research I have discovered his official website, which doesn’t really reveal too much about him. Wikipedia seems to have more information about his career and where his songs have been on television program soundtracks. This is where I discovered that he had numerous songs on Scrubs. It still amazes me how many great songs Zach Braff chose for many episodes of Scrubs. I guess it also helps that these two were college friends. I digress…

This music is mellow and relaxed and when I listen to it, I feel myself slowing down as he sings. My favourite tracks right now are ‘They Bring Me to You’, ‘I’d Rather Be You’, and ‘Brand New Day’ from Simple TImes and ‘Everything’ll Be Alright’ and “Winter’ from We Were Here. I love so many of his lyrics, but I think these are my favourite so far…

You looked like the sun, I was the only one,

who could stare until you were shining on me,

and as we drank our wine and let the world fade away,

the sunrise tried to end it while we tried to stay.

The rest of my life can’t compare to this night,

and only the heartaches have given me sight,

they bring me to you, they bring me to you.

Lyrics from ‘They Bring me to You’

- A bit cute -

This is one of his few video clips – ‘I’d Rather Be WIth You’…

Here’s a link to YouTube video where he performs two of my favourites, ‘Brand New Day’ and ‘I’d Rather be With You’ live…

What do you think? Have you ever heard of Joshua Radin? If not, what are your thoughts?

Alison

6 thoughts on “Love: Joshua Radin

  1. Now … our taste is music is as vastly different as our taste in women (haha!), (except U2), but this Josh guy, well I could imagine sitting in a pub with you, enjoying a wine or two, mellowed out with his glorious tones. Miss you. xo

  2. I hadn’t heard of him but thanks for sharing. The first song is definitely my favourite. This was a great way to start the day. I have been listening a lot to Bon Iver lately, I adore him:) X

Leave a Reply

