Bake: Pumpkin Soup

As soon as the weather starts to turn cold, I get a massive craving for soups and warm, comforting dinners. In the past two weeks I have made FOUR different soups – overkill perhaps? I want to share them all with you as I love them all and hope that you can all make these on your colder days and nights. I want to start with pumpkin soup as I have actually trialled this one THREE times (starting to sound a bit soup-crazy…almost soup-natzee-like – ‘No soup for you!’…I had to say it!)

This recipe is from Michelle Bridge’s Crunch Time book (I have mentioned this before). After some research, it turns out Michelle Bridges has shared this recipe with Better Homes and Gardens, so you can find it here.

It is super-easy to make, with very few ingredients.

- One-pot wonder -

The first time I made it was with a more mature butternut pumpkin and less liquid and this gave a great flavour and a lovely thick consistency. The second time, I used a younger butternut pumpkin and more liquid and the flavour wasn’t as good, and the texture was a bit thin for my liking. The third time was similar to the first, but with half butternut pumpkin and half kent – the result was still not as thick as I’d have liked, but better than the second time. And if you’re wondering about my extended knowledge of pumpkins, Husband has taught me everything he knows as he works directly with pumpkins on a daily basis – perhaps this sounds like the strangest thing so far!?!?

- Mummy bowl of yummy pumpkin soup -

- Baby bowl of yummy pumpkin soup -

It was really lovely with the cumin in the soup and the coriander as a garnish. I adore natural yoghurt, so that made a lovely addition also.

What is your favourite pumpkin soup recipe?

Alison

9 thoughts on “Bake: Pumpkin Soup

  1. I love pumpkin soup too but I put potato and onion in mine and then stir in either coconut milk powder or a tin of coconut cream in after its cooks and blended. SO yummy

  2. Sounds yummy Al. Another variation I like is to bake the pumpkin and some onion first. It gives it a lovely rich flavour and if you can also add Thai red curry and low fat coconut milk too. Damn, I’m hungry now!!

  3. Yummy! I made a Donna Hay one the other day. You cut the butternut in half, scoop out the seeds, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt and bake in the skin in the oven for an hour. You also bake a whole onion, skin on and a whole garlic head. Scoop out the flesh of the pumpkin, squeeze out the onion and garlic, add, chicken stock, 1 tbs of honey and season. Blend until smooth. Her recipe also called for light pouring cream but you could leave it out and add your yoghurt at serving time. It was delicious! The honey just added a whole new flavour dimension to it. Let me know if you decide to give it a go. xo
    PS Loving your blog. I read it everyday. Good job Al.

  4. I don’t really like pumpkin soup, but my replacement soup is roast sweet potato soup… same thick creamy consistency but a little sweeter. You roast the sweet potato with a drizzle of maple syrup. So yum! x Ally

Leave a Reply

