Love: Titanic in 3D

As discussed in many previous posts, I am a huge sucker for the chick flick. I love a story about love and so when my long-time friend Khamal (aka Karl) asked if I wanted to see Titanic in 3D with him, I was chuffed. We went to see the original Titanic together, fifteen years ago, when we were young, fresh university students, without a care in the world. As Khamal is a big movie nerd (this is an endearing term for him) we had to go to the Hoyts Imax screening and get seats right in the middle and right at the back (he has made me line up and run at two other Imax films in the past, to get the best seats…right at the back and right in the middle – this tells you just how serious he is about his favourite seats in a cinema).

- Promotional poster -

I was surprised how much of the movie I had forgotten – obviously I still remember how it ended and all the popular sequences (you all know what they are). I had also forgotten how cheesy some of it was – so James Cameron! The 3D component was good in some areas, and not-so-good in others – there were times that I forgot I was watching a 3D movie, which could mean that it was really well-done….or not. Apparently it had taken them 7 months to film the original version, and 13 months to convert it to 3D.

- THE famous scene -

There were a few specific scenes that looked really great in 3D; the scene where the caption is drowned by the gushing water into the bridge (new term I learnt since discussing this scene – I love learning new things). According to Khamal, the other well-done scene was the Kate Winslet nude drawing scene – I’m not convinced that he speaks of this because the 3D is so good. Husband also speaks fondly of this scene – how many other men out there found this scene to be ‘very special’? Kate Winslet is extremely hot – girl crush! I also think Leo is a hottie too.

- Oh the chemistry -

A day or so after we had seen the film, Khamal sent me a message about his thoughts on the film. I thought they were very profound and so I asked if he’d mind if I published them here. He was happy to share his thoughts. Here they are…

I’ve discovered the meaning to the ending of Titanic!! Well, at least I think I have. It’s just a theory but see if you think it’s valid.

That last scene where they dance on the Titanic while everyone is watching happens just after we see old Rose sleeping, smiling peacefully and we see the pictures of her life. We see her life ‘passing before our eyes’ which, as you know, people say happens right before they die (or nearly die). Then we see her on board the ship with all the deceased passengers and her dancing with her beloved. It’s kind of like she’s rejoined them but in a more ideal scenario (where they’re applauding her actions and not condemning them). This scene also connects to the scene where she throws the heart of the ocean into the sea. She is symbolically rejoining her dead compatriots (throughout the film, she makes an effort to be part of the lower class group with whom she feels a connection to… very Marxist! She even abandons the upper class life boats, choosing the same mortal fate as theirs).

Anyway, my point is that the end scene is basically Rose in heaven where there are no social classes (the scene takes place on the upper class deck but the lower class people are in attendance), no judgement and plenty of Leo. It’s all very romantic, idealistic and sugary but it kind of works in a “let’s try to give this dour story a happy but ultimately bittersweet ending”. It could also be a dream but all signs point to a peaceful death for Rose who has lived that life of rich fulfilment and contentment that Leo so strongly desired for her (and even gave his life for it) and now she can join him guilt free. She’s kind of kept her part of the bargain (they did something similar in “Saving Private Ryan”).

Thank you for sharing Khamal – I totally agree with you and hadn’t really thought of it until you pointed it out. You’re such a closet Media teacher. Overall, it was worth sitting through the three-hour epic all over again, fifteen years later. It was still compelling and well-made (in a conventional narrative-structure-way), and a great film.

- Two movie nerds in 3D glasses -

For those of you that have seen Titanic (3D or not), what are your thoughts on Khamal’s theory? Anyone else seen the 3D version? If so, what are your thoughts? If not, why not?

Alison (and Khamal)

8 thoughts on “Love: Titanic in 3D

  1. I agree with Khamal. I think they had to put in a reasonably happy ending because the real one is pretty bloody awful!

  2. Oh my Karl (!), you should change teaching methods! Or, write your own blog! I saw ‘Puss in Boots’ in 3D recently. I was more amused at how my 4 year old daughter was trying to grab things in mid air. I laughed a lot. xo

Leave a Reply

