Bake: Birthday Cup Cakes for Sam

After a year and half, my beautiful Mothers’ Group still meet weekly and this week it was so lovely to be able to celebrate Sam’s birthday (age with-held). We are on the verge of transitioning to a ‘play-group’, but we’re finding it very difficult, as we all love to get together and chat and hang out, but let’s be honest, the weekly meetings are technically about the children (unfortunately).

For Sam’s birthday last week, Victoria suggested that we get her a birthday cake of some description, so I offered to buy something to take along.  When I woke up that morning, I realised that buying a cake was ridiculous as I love to bake! So, I set out to make my ever-so-easy cupcakes from a very old Super Food Ideas Magazine. I cut a few corners, but they still looked (and hopefully tasted) fabulous.

Through habit, I still get out my folder that holds all my collected recipes from various magazines to make these cup cakes, but I really don’t need to, as I know it off by heart.

Vanilla Cupcakes

60g butter, softened

¼ cup caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

¾ cup SR Flour

¼ cup milk

Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Slow mixer speed down and add vanilla and egg. After they’ve mixed through, slow the beaters right down to lowest setting and add the flour and milk. Voila! Spoon into 12 cupcake holders, and bake in a moderate oven (180 degrees) for about 15 minutes.

- Butter and Sugar = fluffy -

- The quickest, easiest cake batter -

- Ready for their 15 minutes in the moderate oven -

- Post-baking -

After they had cooled, I cheated and iced them with a supermarket icing. I did this because I simply didn’t have time to make it that morning.

- Ready to go -

- Happy Birthday to Sam! -

In addition to sharing this recipe with you, I wanted to tell you that I didn’t even eat one of these cup cakes. I have done so in the past, (of course) but as I’m doing the 12WBT, I wasn’t willing to waste the calories on one of these. I’d also weighed-in that very morning and the scales didn’t show me what I wanted to see, so was determined to be strong.

Have you passed-up birthday cake recently? Is it worth it?
Alison
6 thoughts on “Bake: Birthday Cup Cakes for Sam

  1. I have most certainly not passed on cake ever:) These cupcakes look fantastic and it’s perfect timing because on Friday I will be baking with my boyfriend’s sister for her 30th and this recipe looks so simple. I’m going to print it now and show the result later xx

Leave a Reply

