Love: Book Review – ‘Pillars of the Earth’

It took me months, but I finally finished reading ‘Pillars of the Earth’ written by Ken Follett. Now, it didn’t take me that long because I wasn’t enjoying it – quite the opposite actually. It took me months because I have so many other distractions that take me away from reading, such as child, blogging, sewing, baking, Ipad and my obsession with The Bachelor and The Bachelorettes (more on that later).

I digress. I borrowed this from my very generous friend Brooke (once again, thank you Brooke) and it was already in a pre-loved state. Then, I got it and some of the pages at the beginning were falling right out as I read them. I did my best sticky-tape job to get them back together, but this book is now well and truly ‘loved’.

- Finally finished -

It is unlike any of the books I usually pick up. I had heard Oprah rave about it years ago, and have had it on my ‘To Read’ list for a long, long time. It is an historical novel, set in the middle of the 12th century and surrounds the building of a cathedral and the people involved, who live in the town of Kingsbridge. It has many love-story components (of course – would I read anything that didn’t’?) and history, which I found fascinating. It is so interesting to read about such a different era, where the social values are so different and lifestyle is so different – no technology! Specifically, I learnt so much about the history of England and it has inspired me to watch ‘The Tudors’ television series, which was set quite a bit later than ‘Pillars of the Earth’, but still a look at the history of England and its rulers.

I would rate this book 7 out of 10.

For those that have read this, what did you think? For those who haven’t, what have you heard?

Alison

3 thoughts on “Love: Book Review – ‘Pillars of the Earth’

  1. Yes, I totally agree with you, Al. A definite 7 out of 10. So well written – I also found it hard to put down (in spite of its weight!!). I thought his next book – World Without End – was very good also, but not quite up to “Pillars” standard.

    I love getting totally engrossed in a good book! When it comes to an end, it’s like losing a good friend. There’s nothing like a nice bit of escapism. 🙂

  2. I read this probably 20 years ago now and it still stands out in my mind as a very very good read. Might just have to dust off my copy and have another read.

Leave a Reply

