Bake: Lemon Ricotta Pie

Another week of the 12WBT challenge down, and more kgs lost (not quite enough for me to brag about yet I feel). I am searching around for yummy, tempting lower-in-calories baking items. I’m note sure how Michelle Bridge’s would feel about this, but it seems quite a bit lower in calories and certainly not too many if you have a teeny-tiny piece (which pretty-much goes for everything anyway). I even found it on the Calorie King Website, so it must be ok.

Anyway, it’s a really ‘easy-to-do’ recipe and was perfect for my rainy afternoon activity while Husband and Baby went off to swimming lessons. I also had quite a bit of ricotta cheese left over from the week of 12WBT, as Michelle Bridges seems to have an unusually large amount of ricotta cheese in her menu plan (must be ok to eat in rather large quantities?!?)

It has the following ingredients for the filling, all blended together in the trusty Kitchen-aide:

  • 405 g Ricotta Cheese (1 1/2 cups)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 55 g Sugar (1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 Lemon rind, grated (I also added the juice of half the lemon)
  • 85 g Sultanas or currants (1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup Low Fat Fibre Pastry recipe (125g) – this was also on the Calorie King website and contained flour, butter, ricotta and water – easy peasy!

- Ingredients ready for mixing -

- Rolling Pastry -

- Pie filling ready to be poured into cooked pastry case -

- Cooked pie pastry, ready to be filled -

- Together at last, ready to be baked -

- After 40 minutes in a moderate oven...all puffed up -

- Ready for eating -

So the verdict? I thought it was a bit eggy in flavour and for this reason I would omit one of the eggs next time. I loved the hint of lemon in each bite, and the pastry was really easy and tasted lovely. I will definitely use this pastry recipe for an apple pie in the future (not-so-near-future-thanks-to-12WBT). Husband thought it tasted great with a HUGE dollop of whipped cream – I had to look away.

What low-calorie dishes have you been making? Or you could just make a general comment (Mum)….

Alison

4 thoughts on “Bake: Lemon Ricotta Pie

  1. You had me hook line and sinker until you said it tasted eggy! Looks delicious. Might have to have a slice of your next week one with fewer eggs!
    So proud of you for flexing your will power muscle. You are proving that it’s ok to have your cake and eat it too! Just make it a healthier one and smaller slice! xo

  2. It looks yummy Al! I’d love to try that when I come to visit next month – but I will probably opt for a dollop of cream like hubby. šŸ™‚

  3. Alison, I am so envious of your healthy lifestyle. I much prefer an eat crap now- complain later regime I have been on for the past few months. This works well coupled with the self sabotage plan I’ve also been working on, which entails binge eating whenever I get remotely close to my goal weight and then sulking about it later. As a lover of anything ‘quick fix’, I think what you are doing is so awesome, healthy and although you already look fantastic, you’ll be extra smoking’ by the end of this! You are inspiring me to jump on board and get healthy too. During the week, that is. Weekends are all about stuffing up the good work and reverting to the self sabotage regime.
    Thanks for the inspiration – I will definitely be staying tuned for more healthy recipes and progress reports. xo

  4. It looks wonderful (and surely whipped cream can count as protein);)

    Sounds like you are doing really well and making very good choices for yourself which is important. I have been eating quite well this week but haven’t escaped my chocolate fix. xx

Leave a Reply

