Bake: Michelle Bridge’s Apricot (and Mixed Berry) and Buttermilk Muffins

I am pretty serious about the 12WBT and so the face of my baking is changing from yummy, fatty, creamy, sugary, buttery, chocolatey-goodness, into low-calorie, not-so-sweet, not-as-appealing-in-general baking. I hope to go back to the odd aforementioned baking, but for now, I’ll be baking only low-calorie ‘goodies’. So, believe it or not, Michelle Bridges has published some muffin recipes – they are few and far between, but seem to have less sugar and lesser quantities of the ‘bad-fats’. This one is from her ‘Crunch Time Cookbook’, that my very generous (and gorgeous) friend Brooke, loaned me (Brooke loans me a lot of great things that I am very grateful for – thank you Brooke!)

- The one with the muffin recipes in -

So, I got to baking – which Husband was very happy about after a couple of weeks of a break from baked goodies. They were very easy with the following ingredients all mixed together in my trusty Kitchenaide…

  • 1 3/4 cups SR Flour
  • 1 Tbs low-GI sugar
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried apricots (I did half apricots and half frozen berries for variety)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup rice bran oil
  • 1 lemon – zest only

- Ready for mixing -

I like to use an ice-cream scoop to put them into their cases – it allows me to keep the amounts similar and seems to be quicker and creates less mess.

- Ice cream scoop -

- Half apricot, half mixed berries -

I baked them in a 200 degree oven – the baby-sized ones for 12 minutes and the daddy-size ones for 20 minutes.

- Daddy-size muffins & baby-size muffins -

Yum!

Do you have any ‘healthier’ baking recipes?

Alison

4 thoughts on “Bake: Michelle Bridge’s Apricot (and Mixed Berry) and Buttermilk Muffins

  1. This is looking very good! I’m glad you are so comitted.

    When I bake cupcakes or muffins I just use a measure cup so that I get it even but an ice cream spoon is a fabulous idea too. Whatever is closest in the drawer I say x

  2. Pingback: Bake: Pumpkin Soup | sew and bake and love

Leave a Reply

