Love: Movie Review – ‘The Vow’

I hadn’t been to the movies in a long, long time and when I was given an afternoon’s leave pass to go with my beautiful friend Holly, I was over the moon! I had been wanting to see this particular movie since I first saw the film trailer on TV during an ad-break. It is definitely in the ‘chick-flick’ category, as it is a mushy love story with lots of soft, low-key lighting and a leading male character (Leo, played by Channing Tatum) who is not only beautiful, with a hot-bod, but also adores the leading lady (Paige, played by Rachel McAdams) in a way that we all dream of being adored.

- A love story -

It started off a bit plain and I wondered whether the story was going to go anywhere other than portraying their love for each other – which is nice, but slightly boring. When the story kicked in, I started to enjoy it and realised the film maker chose to portray their love in such detail to begin with, so that when their love is ‘taken away’ there is a clear contrast set up and we, as an audience, can feel that loss.

- Lots of kissing -

I also spent three-quarters of the movie trying to work out where I ‘d seen ‘the sister’ (Gwen, played by Jessica McNamee), only to realise that she is an Australian actress, who was Nathan’s wife in ‘Packed to the Rafters’. Who knew?

- Nathan's wife in 'Packed to the Rafters' -

After watching this movie, I was taken back to a about six years ago when I watched ‘The Notebook’ which also had Rachel McAdams in it, and the last time a movie hit me in the heart (easier said than done, believe it or not). I just love mushy, heart-felt films, but they don’t all have a serious affect on me. Every now and again, one will stike a chord deep within, and it just stays with me – like ‘The Notebook’, this film is hanging around in my mind, along with a few specific lines in the script.

- LOVE 'The Notebook'

Holly and I were even saying we may go and see it again – now that’s serious!!

- Gotta have a scene in the rain -

- Who doesn't love a bloke that can play you a ballad? -

I would love to recommend this film to everyone, but I know it’s not for all tastes. So, I recommend it to people that also love a bit of mush and love a story about relationships. I would also like to remind you to take your tissues along with you (I’m especially aiming that towards you Alley ).

I have included a link to the film trailer in an attempt to lure you all in to going and seeing it…

What did you think of this film? For people that haven’t seen this (yet) what have you heard?

Alison

Photos taken from: IMDB & The Vow Official Website.

7 thoughts on “Love: Movie Review – ‘The Vow’

  1. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!!
    I can’t stop thinking about this movie and made all of my colleagues sit through the trailer numerous times yesterday 🙂
    Would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to see it again!

  2. In all honesty, I’m not a fan of ‘The Notebook’ but understand and respect how the movie impacted you at that time of your life. It’s funny how movies just speak to us at certain times of our life. Even when we re-watch them years later, the thoughts and feelings of that time still come to the fore. I will see ‘The Vow’ purely to check out Tatum. He was hot in ‘Step Up’ too. xo

  3. I can’t wait to see it, I haven’t had a chance yet but it is on the list when I get back. Sounds like you enjoyed it and there is nothing wrong with a good chick flick xx

Leave a Reply

