Bake: Standby Brownies

I wanted to share one of my all-time favourite baking treats with you – Donna Hay’s Stand-by Brownies. I love that these are so easy to make and can be made using simple items from your pantry and fridge.  This is another favourite from Donna Hay’s Fast, Fresh, Simple Cookbook. LOVE this book!

Firstly you melt the following in a saucepan:

  • butter,
  • caster sugar and
  • cocoa

- A Melting Pot of YUM! -

Then when it’s cooled slightly, you add it to:

  • Plain Flour,
  • Eggs and
  • Vanilla Extract.

- Kitchen Aid Doing it's thing -

Then you simply pop it in a lined tray and into the oven. How easy is that?

- Glossy Batter -

About 35 minutes later…

- Out of the Oven -

Then finally, the brownies sprinkled with icing sugar, and ready to eat…

- YUM! -

What are your easy, sweet baking treats?

Alison

14 thoughts on “Bake: Standby Brownies

  1. Ohhhhh yummmmm! Thank you for posting this Alison. They look fantastic. I. need. soon.

    I don’t really have an easy, sweet baking treats I guess, other than chocolate chip cookies. Boring, right? That’s why I need to add these brownies to my repertoire.

  2. Alison, I also have a Donna Hay brownie recipe from an earlier cookbook of hers. It is slightly different but very easy and I always make them.

  3. It looks delicious! I have that book but I haven’t made anything yet.

    My usual baking treat is red velvet cupcakes, they have the wow-factor whilst being pretty easy to make x

  4. Thanks for sharing this delicious treat. Perfect for lunch box snacks and also a good recipe to make with children. I love Donna Hay too, my favourite cook book is ‘Simple Dinners’. Yummy!

  5. Yes, brownies are something I CAN bake. The difference between our recipes is that I use expensive chocolate instead of cocoa. I melt it down with the butter in a glass bowl. I made dozens of them to raise money for Black Saturday and they all sold. Everyone loves brownies. xo

  6. Honey Oat Bars…. very easy, even my bung oven can cope! 1 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup wholemeal SR flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, packet of dried apricots, 1 tblsp honey and a cup and a tblsp butter. Melt butter and honey. Add to other ingredients. Bake in a lamington type pan for about 20 min. Cut into slices. Yum! Ally x

  7. Yum!! How do you stay so thin while cooking all of these delicious treats??
    I love the Donna Hay coconut macaroons with choc ganache filling from Marie Claire ‘Flavours’ cookbook. So easy that my kids can make them 🙂

Leave a Reply

